Yoga education: Yoga Rules,Type of Yoga, Defecation

Yoga education: Yoga Rules, Type of Yoga, and Yoga Defecation

The word yoga is derived from the Sanskrit word ‘yuj dhatu’, which means to join, coordinate or bring into emotional unity. We can clearly see this act of integration in our family life as well.

For example, when we associate ourselves with our mother, then there is the yoga of mother-son or mother-daughter. Similarly, brother-sister with sister, or sister-sister and father-son or father-daughter relationship with father can be seen as yoga.

According to Vedanta

But according to Vedanta, yoga goes further than this. He is called “Yogi Yajnavalkya”. That “Yoga is the very name of experiencing the soul and the Supreme Soul to be one.” Yoga prompts us to look within. Could

The definition of yoga

Various Yogacharyas have defined Yoga as follows

1. According to Manu and Yajnavalkya, Yoga is the holistic form of all those activities, by the continuous practice of which it is possible to attain salvation.

2. In the Puranas it has been said in the context of  Yoga is a successful means of self-realization.”

3. According to Maharishi Patanjali

Yoga is the cessation of the tendencies of the mind.

In short, it can be said that through physical and mental practice, the self-realization of mind and body is Yoga. From a practical point of view, it can be said that yoga is the sequence of mental, vital, physical, and spiritual development.

Type of Yoga


Our sages have told us eight types of means for the purification of body, intellect, mind, and soul through yoga and to attain God, which is called Ashtanga Yoga. these are the following


1. Yama

Equal vision toward everyone, harmony, and proper behavior toward everyone comes under Yama. Following this brings purity to life and life becomes supernatural. there are five Yamas

(I) non-violence

To love all beings and creatures is non-violence. In other words, my mind, word, deed, any

Non-violence is the feeling of not harming the living being.

(II) Truth

It is true to say what the eyes saw, the ears heard, and the mind understood. It means that truth should be not only external but also internal.

(iii) Asteya

Not stealing with mind, words, and deeds, and not being greedy for others’ wealth is called asteya

(iv) celibacy

To control all your senses is celibacy. Restraint of mind and speech also comes under this.

(v) non-attachment

Under Aparigraha, that type of renunciation has been considered which is attained spontaneously. Asteya

In Aparigraha, donations are accepted, but in Aparigraha, donations are also rejected.

2. Rules

There are five types of rules

(I) Defecation

The purity of body and mind comes under defecation. Bathing, Satvik food, Shatkarma, etc. are necessary for the purification of the body. The inner purification of the mind is achieved by purifying the instincts of the mind by leaving attachment and hatred etc.


Satisfaction is being satisfied with what God has given us and doing our duty properly.

(iii) penance

Sadhana of mind and body by being engaged in action while bearing all kinds of sufferings in every situation

(iv) Self-study ideas

The study of religious scriptures for purification and knowledge, continuous practice of education, and exchange of Satsang and thoughts is self-study.

(v) god creature

Devotion to the Supreme Father through mind, words, and deeds and praising His name everywhere, contemplating and experiencing God in every work is God’s Pranidhan.

3. Posture

Asanas keep physical strength and fitness in existence. Control over your entire senses is possible only through Asana. Asanas have a great contribution to the control of dirty and indecent feelings and in the manifestation of auspicious feelings.

For all the above achievements, daily continuous practice of asanas works beautifully. Yogasanas strengthen the body. Asanas are very important to remove laziness, laziness, and carelessness.

Asanas are essential if we want mental stability. Through the posture, a supernatural light starts shining on the face.

4. Pranayama

Maharishi Patanjali has said, “Breathing Prasvasayo, Gati Vishada: Pranayama.” That is, stopping the natural movement of the breath-breathing is Pranayama.

Air is life-giving, and air is life, so Pranayama is useful for all. Pranayama removes the disorders of the body and essential tensions of the mind. Pranayama is the best way to live a long life. In the context of Pranayama, it has also been said

5. Withdrawal

Pratyahara is to stop the restlessness of the mind from wandering in different types of subjects. The fickleness of the mind is not hidden from anyone.

Don’t know where the mind wanders. It is necessary to control it. Different types of laziness and carelessness keep a circle around the man. Saving oneself from laziness and carelessness comes under Pratyahara. It is the divine medicine of sadhana for a human being to remain virtuous at all times and observe it.

The benefit of Pratyahara is given only by the continuous practice of Sadhana, so it can be said that a person who is virtuous and pure in mind should try to concentrate completely on the meditation of his beloved, which is called Pratyahara.

6. Perception

Holding one subject in mind and concentrating on it and keeping one’s attitude pure is ‘Dharana’. The foolishness of the mind is brought under control by Dharana. To gain victory over the qualities of Tamo and Rajo is the basic element of Dharna.

7. Meditation

Keeping your mind continuously engaged in only one pure sattvic attitude comes under meditation. In Dhyanabindu Upanishad it is said that even a mountain as high and vast as sin can be penetrated by meditation.

Not by any other means. Stability of attention comes with practice. The playfulness of the mind goes away only by the continuous practice of meditation.

8. Tomb

When the mind becomes engrossed in the divine by controlling the mind, it is called samadhi. Samadhi is the peak of meditation. To reach the state of samadhi, one has to practice a lot of meditation.

In the state of meditation, the object of meditation and the meditator appear to be different, but in samadhi, the object of meditation remains the same. Meditation, meditator, and goal. All three become united. Only very fortunate people are entitled to this state.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *